Two years from now, we will elect a new President and Vice President, as well as other national and local officials. Even at the risk of stating the obvious, the national and local elections should be held on May 9, 2022 as mandated by the Constitution.

Any and all attempts and excuses to postpone the elections as scheduled are unacceptable. As the country adjusts to the effects of the global pandemic, we should vigilantly protect and uphold our basic rights, including the right of suffrage.

We therefore declare our commitment to preserve our democratic institutions and Constitutional rights which freedom-loving Filipinos have fought so hard to restore, even at the cost of their own lives. Let not their struggles and deaths be in vain.

Let us resist and denounce all efforts to dispense with the elections by insidious means such as the proposed extension of the term limits of incumbent officials and the amendment of the Constitution.

We ask the President and Congress, as well as all political parties, party-list groups, the Commission on Elections and all Filipinos who value democracy, to similarly declare their commitment to holding the elections on May 9, 2022. We urge all to sign a Covenant for the 2022 Elections (C-22) which should unequivocally declare: “We commit to holding safe, free, fair, credible and transparent elections on May 9, 2022.”

We likewise call on the public to register. May this serve as proof that we want elections to push through.

We appeal to those in power to categorically disown and dismiss speculations about a “no-elections” (no-el) scenario which were created by the push for charter change and the proposed shift from presidential to parliamentary system.

The right of suffrage should never be compromised. All of us should remain committed in promoting and upholding safe, free, fair, credible and transparent elections.



Abigail Manampan
Ador Torneo
Adrian G. Bondoc
Aldrin Angeles
Alex Lacson
Angel Sabas
Angelica Joyce Samson
Bobby M. Tuazon
Bp. Broderick Pabillo
Caloy Magsakay Diño
Carlos D. Subang
Cherry S. Bondoc
Christelle Juin Ancha
Danilo Arao
Dennis M. Dizon
Dorothy Louise Cudo
Ed Panlilio
Eddie M. Nuque
Elliot Kam
Eugene Panlilio
Fer Santos
Gus Lagman
Hennesy Ozawa
James N. Pasamonte
Jean Abigail Victoria
Jeannette Nina Claveria
Joffe Almoro
Jonathan C. Ong
Jonathan Reginales
Rev. Fr. Joselito Henson
Joseph Jesalva
Joseph Ian Franklin Aurellano
Jozy Acosta-Nisperos
Karen S. Shih
Kenneth Isaiah Ibasco Abante
Lean Fernandez Galvez
Lucy Virginia P. Surla
Luie Tito F. Guia
Maria Alexandra Carandang
Maria Flor Soriano
Maria Lourdes P.A. Sereno
Mariella Besana
Marita F. Wasan
Marlene Macaspac
Marvin S. Pangan
Maura Dizon
Michael Aragon
Michael Marzan
Nelson J. Celis
Noel Sibal
Ophalle Alzona-Pornela
Paula Bianca C. Lapuz
Rafael Papelleras, Jr.
Regina Tolentino
Rey J. Javellana
Ric Miranda
Rev. Fr. Rolly De Leon
Ronald U. Mendoza
Rose Claire Feliciano
Rowell M. Surla
Rowena Sibal
Sergio Andre Gerardo Gabriel
Solita Monsod
Spanky Meer
Temario C. Rivera
Tierone Santos
Vernadeth Diego
Wilma Perocho
Wyden King
Zynen Baniel


Affiliated Network for Social Accountability in East Asia and the Pacific (ANSA-EAP)
Alay Sining-University of the Philippines (UP) Diliman
Alliance for the Common Good-Kapatiran Party
Alliance of Concerned Teachers (ACT) Philippines
Ang Ligaya ng Panginoon Community
Archdiocesan Council of the Laity (ACL)-LAIKKU Pampanga
Association of Women in Theology (AWIT)
Ateneo Human Rights Center (AHRC)
Automated Election System (AES) Watch
Babae Bantayan ang Eleksyon Network (BaBaE Network)
Bawat Isa Mahalaga (B1M)
Brotherhood of Christian Businessmen and Professionals
Caucus of Development NGO Networks (CODE-NGO)
Center for People Empowerment in Governance (CenPEG)
Center for Women’s Resources (CWR)
Christian Family Movement of the Philippines, Inc.
Church Urban Poor Solidarity
College Editors Guild of the Philippines (CEGP)
College of Social Sciences and Philosophy Freshies, Shiftees, and Transferees Council (CSSP FSTC)-University of the Philippines (UP) Diliman
De La Salle Philippines Network of Schools
De La Salle University-Business College Government (DLSU BCG)
De La Salle University Committee on National Issues and Concerns
De La Salle University-University Student Government (DLSU USG)
Diocesan Council of the Laity (DCL)-Diocese of Legazpi
DZRV-AM (Veritas 846)
Families for Truth, Justice and Peace (FTJP)
Federation of Free Farmers (FFF)
IBON Foundation
Initiatives for Dialogue and Empowerment through Alternative Legal Services, Inc. (IDEALS)
Kapatirang Simbahan para sa Bayan (Kasimbayan)
Karapatan Alliance Philippines
Kodao Productions
Kontra Daya
Laiko Warriors
Lasallian Justice and Peace Commission (LJPC)
Legal Network for Truthful Elections (LENTE)
Liguorians of the Philippines
Mata sa Balota
Miriam Identity, Spirituality and Mission Office (MISMO)-Miriam College
National Alliance of Youth Leaders (NAYL)
National Citizens’ Movement for Free Elections (NAMFREL)
National Secretariat for Social Action (NASSA)/Caritas Philippines
Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Politics (PPCRP) – Curia Sancti Rosarii, Inc.(CSRI)
People’s Choice Movement (PCM)
Philippine Alliance of Human Rights Advocates (PAHRA)
PPCRV Volunteers of Previous Elections – Angeles City, Pampanga
Promotion of Church People’s Response (PCPR)
Sangguniang Laiko ng Pilipinas
Simbahang Lingkod ng Bayan (SLB)
Social Action Center of Pampanga (SACOP)
Society of the Sacred Heart (RSCJ)
St. John Apostle-Evangelist Services Association (SJAES)
Task Force on Urban Conscientization
Teachers’ Dignity Coalition (TDC)
Teresian Association
The Lord’s Flock Catholic Charismatic Community
The Silent Majority-Silent No More
University of the Philippines Association of Civil Engineering Students (UP ACES)
University of the Philippines Political Society (UP POLSCi)
University of the Philippines Sanlahi Alliance
Workers Electoral Watch (WE Watch)

Leave a Comment